May 02, 2008


1) National Assembly of State Arts Agencies Invites Award Nominations

Deadline: June 30, 2008

The National Assembly of State Arts Agencies ( ) annually presents awards to recognize exemplary leadership and best practices of state and regional arts organizations.

Entries are invited for the following awards:

National Accessibility Leadership Award: The National Endowment for the Arts ( ) and NASAA co-sponsor this award to recognize exceptional and effective initiatives or programs that make the arts accessible and inclusive to individuals
with disabilities and/or older adults. The $30,000 award is jointly supported through this partnership and will be administered as a matching one-year grant from the NEA. The grant must be used to advance the recipient's accessibility work for older adults and/or people with disabilities. All state arts agencies and regional arts organizations are eligible. Nominations may be made by any SAA or RAO staff or council member, or individuals/organizations that work on accessibility issues in partnership with an SAA or RAO.

Distinguished Public Service Award: This award honors an individual whose outstanding service, creative thinking, and leadership significantly impacts public support for the arts in his her
state or region. All current or past SAA or RAO chairs or council members are eligible. Nominations may be made by any NASAA member SAA staff, or council member, or any RAO staff or council member.

Gary Young Award: This award recognizes an individual who makes an extraordinary contribution to public support for the arts in his/her state or region. The ideal candidate will exhibit exemplary leadership, innovative thinking, and dedication to diverse
artistic expression. All current or past SAA or RAO executive directors are eligible. Nominations may be made by any SAA staff or council member, or any RAO staff or council member.

Visit the NASAA Web site for complete program information.

RFP Link:


2) Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Accepting Applications for Annual Fellowship

Deadline: September 15, 2008 (United States and Canada); and December 1, 2008 (Latin America and Caribbean)

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation ( )
annually offers fellowships to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest
possible conditions. The foundation provides fellowships for advanced professionals
in all fields (natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, creative arts) except the performing arts. The fellowships are awarded to men and women who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are not available for students. The foundation only supports individuals; it does not make grants to institutions or organizations. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean.

In the most recent competitions, the foundation awarded 190 U.S. and Canadian Fellowships for a total of $8.2 million (an average grant of $43,200), and 35 Latin American and Caribbean Fellowships for a total of $1.2 million (an average grant of $34,285). The amounts of the grants will be adjusted to the needs of the fellows, considering their other resources and the purpose and scope of their plans. Appointments are ordinarily made for one year and in no instance for a period shorter than six consecutive months. Complete program information and application forms are available at the foundation's Web site.

RFP Link:


3) Texas Filmmakers Accepting Applications for Texas Film & Video Grants

Deadline: May 31, 2008

Texas Filmmakers ( ), a 501(c)(3) arts organization, has announced the return of the Texas Film & Video Grants program. The program is designed to provide financial assistance to independent and emerging media makers who live in the State
of Texas. Assistance is provided to artists whose work shows potential, skill, and creativity.

Awards are distributed on a per-project basis, with up to a maximum of $1,000 awarded per project. Visit the Texas Filmmakers Web site for complete program information.

RFP Link:


4) VSA arts Invites Entries From Young Artists With Disabilities for Green Light Awards

Deadline: July 11, 2008

Sponsored by VSA arts ( ) with support from Volkswagen of America, Inc. ( ), the Green Light Awards program is open to young artists between the ages of 16 and 25 living in the United States who have a physical, cognitive, or mental disability. A disability is defined as an impairment that substantially limits a major life
activity. The program invites entries of both representational and abstract work. Artwork may illustrate actual aspects of what signals the artist's creative motivations such as the physical world or personal discoveries. Abstract work that relates to feelings or emotions is also encouraged. Work might also reflect the artist's experience of living with a disability and its role in shaping or transforming their work.

Art must be an original work that has been completed in the last three years. Eligible media include paintings and drawings (oil, watercolor, acrylic, pencil, or charcoal), fine art prints
(lithographs, etching, intaglio, or woodcuts), photography, computer-generated prints, and two-dimensional mixed media. This year the program also welcomes entries of sculpture and
time-based media (video, film, etc.).

The program will award one Grand Prize of $20,000, one First Award of $10,000, one Second Award of $6,000, and twelve Awards of Excellence of $2,000 each. Visit the VSA arts Web site for complete program information.

RFP Link:

For additional RFPs in Arts and Culture, visit:

No comments:

Post a Comment